WBBL 2021-22 – Landmark TV deal for WBBL with all 59 matches to be broadcast


CA announced the remainder of the WBBL fixtures will be played in Perth, Adelaide, and Mackay

Cricket Australia has secured a landmark deal with all 59 matches of this season’s WBBL competition to be broadcast on television for the first time.

Foxtel, the pay TV provider, will show all matches live while free-to-air network Channel Seven will carry 24 games. Last season 36 matches were shown on television with the remaining matches streamed online. It was originally planned that 47 matches would be broadcast this season but CA has been able to get all of them shown live. In the first year of the WBBL there were just 10 matches televised.

The WBBL has also announced the full fixture list having previously only been able to commit to the first 20 matches due to the ongoing Covid-19 issues in Australia. The first 20 matches will be played in Tasmania but the tournament will then move as a rolling carnival to Adelaide, Perth, and Mackay in Queensland with the finals venues yet to be locked in. Due to border closures, there will be no regular-season games in New South Wales, Victoria, or the ACT this season.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button