BBL 2021-22 – Harry Brook heads to Hobart for BBL


Hurricanes sign England rising star following his stunning season for Yorkshire and Northern Superchargers

Hobart Hurricanes have signed one of the hottest young properties in English cricket with Harry Brook set for his first stint in the BBL this coming season.

The 22-year-old had an outstanding season for Yorkshire in the Vitality Blast. He was the fourth-highest runscorer with 486 runs at a strike-rate of 149.07 batting in the middle order. Across both the Blast and the Hundred he only failed to make 20 in three of his 18 innings striking at 150.33 for the English summer and was duly rewarded by being named the Professional Cricketers’ Association Male Young Player of the Year. The previous three winners have been Zak Crawley, Tom Banton, and Ollie Pope.

With Dawid Malan set to be unavailable for the Hurricanes due to his likely involvement in the Ashes, Brook will slot perfectly into their middle order.

“I can’t wait to come out to Australia and play in the Big Bash for the first time,” Brook said.

“Over the years I’ve really enjoyed watching English cricketers like myself come out to Australia, and it seems that not only have they really enjoyed their time playing in the BBL, but a lot of them have also taken their game to the next level.

“I’m really hoping that I can do the same, so I just can’t wait to get there, get stuck in and learn as much as I can.”

The Hurricanes targeted a power-hitting middle-order overseas player to round out their impressive top six. They are likely to have Matthew Wade, D’Arcy Short, and Ben McDermott for most of the season in the top three with Peter Handscomb, Tim David, and Brook rounding out a superb middle order.

They have locked in Sandeep Lamichhane as their overseas legspinner and have a bevy of fast-bowlers to choose from as they chase an elusive BBL title.

Hobart Hurricanes squad: Scott Boland, Harry Brook (England), Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Peter Handscomb, Caleb Jewell, Josh Kann, Sandeep Lamichhane (Nepal), Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith, Mitch Owen, Joel Paris, Wil Parker, D’Arcy Short, Matthew Wade (c), Mac Wright

Alex Malcolm is an Associate Editor at ESPNcricinfo

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button